Passinger Rider Policy...

Old 10-20-2006, 05:10 PM
Default Passinger Rider Policy...

When I was a company driver I had a rider policy that I paid $25.00 per month for and the riders could be as young as 13. Now that i'm an o/o leased onto a company the only rider policy is that all riders have to be at least 18 years old and I can only have one at a time.

This policy is through the leased company. Is there any wat to add to the policy or change it to include younger riders?

Thanks
Neckster

Old 10-20-2006, 05:30 PM
Board Icon
Default Re: Passinger Rider Policy...

Originally Posted by Neckster
When I was a company driver I had a rider policy that I paid $25.00 per month for and the riders could be as young as 13. Now that i'm an o/o leased onto a company the only rider policy is that all riders have to be at least 18 years old and I can only have one at a time.

This policy is through the leased company. Is there any wat to add to the policy or change it to include younger riders?

Thanks
Neckster
The short answer is no. When you signed the contract to pull for a company, you agreed to the terms of the contract. There is a reason why they don't want riders under 18, and that is because of the liability that it puts on the company in the event of an accident.

As far as only 1 rider at a time, you must legally have a DOT approved seat with a restraint device for every person in the vehicle. That means the bed is not a seat.

Old 10-22-2006, 11:02 PM

As far as only 1 rider at a time, you must legally have a DOT approved seat with a restraint device for every person in the vehicle. That means the bed is not a seat.
Let's scratch are head on this one, the bed? So what your saying Rev. is everyone has to be seated and strapped into a DOT approved seat?

Well what do you think team drivers do when one is driving and the other is in the sleeper? Did they take out the bed and put some DOT approved seats back their?