Great Debate, TMC vs Maverick vs Boyd

Old 07-23-2008, 01:23 PM
Default Great Debate, TMC vs Maverick vs Boyd

Is there really a difference between these 3 flatbed companies? I would think that they would all pretty much handle the same freight, maybe in different regions of the country, but all of them seem to offer pretty much the same pay, hometime, benefits, and opportunities.

Are there any current of former drivers for these companies that can shed some light on possible differences and maybe wish one is the best of the three. Please consider that I'm a newbie and exploring all aspects of the business before making the leap, which will be taking place soon and I don't mean leaping into traffic.... But I've always thought flats would be the way I'd want to go.

Thanks

Old 07-23-2008, 04:05 PM
Rookie

It all depends on you, remember as a rookie yo will not make a pile of mney. Comig ot of school yo really don't know how to drivea truck all tey teach you is how to get your CDL. You learn ho drive a truck whie you a out ther withyour trainer.
That being said her is some food for thought Maverick has mostly auto
Tranies but pays you $500 per week in traing. TMC only pays you $360 per week but has an excellent tainig program. Really don't know much about Boyd. Hope this helps

Old 07-23-2008, 04:20 PM

Drill,
Thanks for the info and that $500/wk figure is what Millis Transfer starts out at for newbies for weeks 1 and 2, then increases, but that's for Van running. I understand what you're saying about being taught to get my CDL versus learning how to drive a rig. I've given this alot of thought and the flats seem to offer better hometime to their drivers, which is equally important to me as the pay is, and in flats it does seem to be better.