Rookie could use some veteran advice

Old 08-03-2008, 12:50 PM
Rookie
Default Rookie could use some veteran advice

I am new to trucking 3 months OTR last years and 8 months local this year. Local job folded so back OTR. No work in my home town except maybe fast food or something. Any how I really don't mind driving and realize from reading posts on this and other message boards all companies are good/bad. I have heard it all from recruiters. I went to one company’s orientation last month only to walk out and return home, to many untruths. I also went to check out a company’s operation closer to home that had prehired me only to see that what was said on these message boards was true, their equipment was old and junky. I know I’m new and have to start out on the bottom rung of the ladder but there are three things I am looking for in a company. One is clean, good and reliable equipment is a must. My wife says I have a mental disorder because I constantly clean the house, cars and yard. I can’t stand dirt, dust, clutter or a mess. I have to have something nice to drive, not brand new although that would be nice but very nice. The second is miles. If I’m going to be away from home I guess I want to run hard. Two to four weeks out is ok, my kids are grown and I’ve been married 20 years last month. Three is respect and good communication from the company. I say that sarcastically but I don’t want to be treated as pond scum and they don't have to kiss my hide section either. Just be fair and polite. I would like to go reefer due to the economy, everyone still has to eat, or flatbed because I have always exercised and tarpping is more than nothing. Sorry this is so drawn out but I would like your opinions on three companies that told me to call back this week to set something up. They all start me out around the same per mile .27 to .32. I know that’s a big difference but .50 per mile sucks if there are no miles. Good equipment, miles to run and to be treated fairly, I’ll